Jorge Luis Borges: “I can’t get along without writing”

Interview excerpted from The Paris Review:

I think nowadays, while literary men seem to have neglected their epic duties, the epic has been saved for us, strangely enough, by the Westerns.

***

I know that I can’t get along without writing. If I don’t write, I feel, well, a kind of remorse, no? Then I thought I would try my hand at writing an article or a poem. But I thought, “I have written hundreds of articles and poems. If I can’t do it, then I’ll know at once that I am done for, that everything is over with me.” So I thought I’d try my hand at something I hadn’t done: If I couldn’t do it, there would be nothing strange about it because why should I write short stories? It would prepare me for the final overwhelming blow: knowing that I was at the end of my tether.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

