Uzma Aslan Khan: “I like my limbs to be free”

Interview excerpted from The Short Form:

I came to short stories late…. What did – and continues to – draw me to this form, when I’m drawn to it, is control and precision, two things I arrive at more easily when writing a chapter, rather than a complete story. A short story must end, while a chapter must urge you to turn the page. It’s a physical and psychological difference: I don’t like socks and I don’t like to tuck the sheets under my bed. I like my limbs to be free. But a short story must tuck in the sheets. That a writer can go through all the necessary stages of discovery, change, and even, to some extent, resolution, in so tight a space is daunting and miraculous.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

