Lucy Caldwell on the Power of Fiction to Understand

Interview excerpt from The Thought Fox (Faber):

None of my ‘research’, however, was as systematic as all of this sounds – I wasn’t taking notes in a journalistic way, rather I was trying to feel my way under the skin of my characters’ story, imagining the emotional logic of it all, beat by tiny beat.

***

Fiction is a way of understanding how someone – how you, or I, or our mother, or sister – could end up so far from who or how we thought we’d be.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

