Chinua Achebe: “I wouldn’t have wanted anyone to teach me how to write”

Interview excerpt from The Paris Review:

Well, I don’t know how [teaching creative writing] is done. I mean it. I really don’t know. The only thing I can say for it is that it provides work for writers. Don’t laugh! It’s very important. I think it’s very important for writers who need something else to do, especially in these precarious times. Many writers can’t make a living. So to be able to teach how to write is valuable to them. But I don’t really know about its value to the student. I don’t mean it’s useless. But I wouldn’t have wanted anyone to teach me how to write.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

