Donald Barthelme on the Creation of Art

Interview excerpted from The Paris Review:

It’s amazing the way previous work can animate new work, amazing and reassuring. Tom Hess used to say that the only adequate criticism of a work of art is another work of art. It may also be the case that any genuine work of art generates new work.

***

You isolate aspects of the process, look at them separately, worry about this and then worry about that. It’s like a sculptor suddenly deciding to use rust. Rust was not appreciated at its full value until rather recently. Roger Angell once asked me why I’d single-spaced a story I’d offered him and I told him that I was trying to keep myself interested.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

