Caitlin O’Neill on the Invisibility of Writing

Excerpt from Ploughshares:

The progress of writing is often as invisible to the outside world. Sitting at my desk, it may appear as if I’m not doing much of anything. I once went to a writing colony that housed artists too and I found myself incredibly jealous of all their materials and the visibility of their effort – half painted canvases and soldered rebar. Maybe if I printed things out more, I’d have the same physical measure of progress, but I still don’t think it will be as cool as the oil paints, patterned fabric, and heavy metal I coveted that Vermont winter.

For the full, read here.

Leave a Reply

