Naomi Shihab Nye on the Language of Poetry

Interview excerpt from PBS NOW:

…words can give you something back if you trust them, and if you know that you’re not trying to proclaim things all the time, but you’re trying to discover things.

A little girl said to me, last year, “Poetry has been eating all my problems.” And I said, “What do you mean by that?” And she said, “It just makes me feel better when I read it, or when I write it.” And I think that’s been true for many people in this country.

For the full transcript, read here.

Leave a Reply

