Maggie Stiefvater on the Art of Storytelling

Interview excerpt from the National Writers Series:

There’s this poem called “The Blind Men and the Elephant” about these five blind men who are each touching a different part of an elephant and guessing what it is. One has a tail, and so he thinks the elephant is a rope. Another one is touching a leg, and so he think it’s a tree trunk. But really they’re all touching the same animal. I feel like when I do my art, and I write, and I paint, it’s the same thing—I’m describing the same animal, just from different sides. Almost all of my ideas get treatment from all of the different medias I have available at my disposal.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

