Sharon Olds: Advice to Young Poets

Excerpted from a conversation with Michael Laskey:

I love odd words. A long time ago I wouldn’t use them, because I would like to have readers who have never gone to university or even high school. I don’t want them to look at it and, if there’s a weird word in the first line, throw it across the room, as I might in the same position. But then I gave in to my love for strange words. There’s a charm in that, maybe even literally a charm, like a good luck weirdness.

Read the full here.

Leave a Reply

